One Person’s Trash….etc.

29 May

I’m drawn to discarded stuff. Not garbage exactly–but things that can maybe be reused or have some sort of intrinsic value–to me at least. This holds true for most areas of my life. For example, I don’t buy new clothes but I do upcycle/recycle old one–the discards of other’s–or I rework my own.

And this brings me to the subject of this post, which on the surface appears to be a logwood scarf printed with buckeye leaves.IMG_3524

But actually, I’m just as interested in the location of the buckeye tree itself as it sits on one of my favorite foraging lots–an urban “pit of despair”–littered with broken  bottles, an old orange sofa, poison ivy and the detritus of years of haphazard littering.  But looking a bit closer, it’s also a rich and varied ecosystem.  Tons of dock, bitter lettuce, sumac, black walnut, tree of heaven and other plants I’m beginning to identify.  In fact, yesterday when I arrived I found three bright orange California poppies begging for acknowledgment.  And though I’m loathe to pick something still attached to the earth, I did pick these three. Mainly because they were leaning so precariously into the traffic of a very busy urban thoroughfare that it’s a wonder I didn’t loose my butt bending over to pick them.

8 Responses to “One Person’s Trash….etc.”

  1. Anonymous May 29, 2017 at 12:45 pm #

    love this glimpse into your process.

    g

    Like

    • Patricia May 29, 2017 at 1:23 pm #

      Hi Grace! Yes, this satisfies the ultimate dumpster diver that resides in my soul!

      Like

  2. Anonymous May 29, 2017 at 1:10 pm #

    I loved reading this Patricia. I find since learning this process I am more present in nature albeit sometimes to distraction!

    Like

  3. Mo Crow May 29, 2017 at 3:46 pm #

    “the best things in life are free” to quote the Beatles

    Like

I appreciate your feedback: