Freedom of Speech?

25 Jan

May 6, 2016.  Last post.  And today I’m starting anew.  From a different place.  Completely different.  When I read back over prior posts, there’s a lot I’m not “hearing.” I’m not hearing the things that I need to say now.  For good reason.  Now looks so different from then.

Yes, I did have a very busy year–from May to December.  I don’t know how many shows I attended as a vendor–one or two a month.  This year I’m more selective perhaps but still anticipate monthly shows, beginning in February.  Surprised myself by finding that although they are hard, I like meeting people.  And truthfully (my truth–not “alternative facts”) the scarves were well received.  So…clearly unable to live on my  meager monthly entitlement, selling at shows will be in the future for as long as it works.

OK.  Enough.  I’m freaking out.  Cannot believe what’s happening in our country.  Cannot believe the casualties already–truth was the first to fall, soon to be followed by the demise of our environment, and perhaps even democracy as we knew it.

I post infrequently on facebook.  Mainly just to an eco print forum but sometimes to my page.  Lately I’m noticing the intensity of the political things I’m “sharing.”  And I’m also noticing that in the past I’ve shared with trepidation–afraid?  Not wanting to alienate anyone?  I’m not sure.  And because facebook on some level turns my stomach, I’m back here.  Back to followingthread.  Here I can say what I need to say from an uncensored place within, and that’s what I aim to do.  Starting with this.  People, freedom-of-speech is on the chopping block.  We Americans can hardly imagine what a world without it would look like.  So let me suggest a vision–a totalitarian state unlike anything we’ve known.

Yesterday the president issued gag orders on many federal agencies.  I know I’m  not the only person freaked by this.  The ability to call and comment on  whitehouse.gov has been removed and now requires internet access to either text  or post on facebook.  15% of the nation have NO internet.

Somehow I’ve got to get on top of this–this feeling/mindset/mood/condition that seems to be taking me away from myself.  Old strategies aren’t working very well.  I meditate.  Try to practice mindfulness.  Breathe.  Pray.  And it all helps for a while, but soon the heaviness returns.

So back to the healing powers of ripping cloth.  This morning, my second prayer flag.  Made from eco dyed and eco printed fabric.  During the time I was doing this, I realized that once again shredding cloth alleviates stress.   I’m imagining many more in the days to come.

img_2808

19 Responses to “Freedom of Speech?”

  1. Linda Nelson January 25, 2017 at 11:21 am #

    Love the prayer flag! I too am freaking–sick to my stomach over this….don’t know what to do—thinking about moving out.

    Like

    • Patricia January 25, 2017 at 11:28 am #

      I don’t think we can get away from it.

      Like

  2. journeyhouse January 25, 2017 at 11:25 am #

    Amen to you, sister in fiber and cloth. These are indeed dark days, but we can’t give up. Perhaps we can start something right here, each of us make a prayer flag or one or two or three. If we could figure out a way to bring them together we could make quite a statement. Laura

    Like

    • Patricia January 25, 2017 at 11:29 am #

      Thank you so much. Make one. Make two. Make a bunch! We could figure out something. And meanwhile–blessings.

      Like

  3. journeyhouse January 25, 2017 at 11:36 am #

    I am going to give this some serious thought. I hope others will join in with some ideas. I just feel that I need to do something positive. Fiber is what I do. Now to use it for good. You have already made a difference, Patricia. I am going to shake off my despair and make a flag of hope and prayer. LAura

    Like

    • Patricia January 25, 2017 at 11:44 am #

      i’d love to see what you create!

      Like

      • journeyhouse January 25, 2017 at 11:56 am #

        Right now my mind is swimming with ideas and thoughts. Positive ones thanks to you.

        Like

  4. grace Forrest January 25, 2017 at 11:49 am #

    i am beyond GLAD to see this here this morning

    Like

  5. Liz A January 25, 2017 at 4:52 pm #

    It is so good to see you here … if only we had more to celebrate. Showing up … it has become my new mantra.

    I had stopped posting in FaceBook, but as things are going, I feel the need to use any outlet possible. For now anyway.

    And cloth … I’m thinking of one reading “hippie nana for peace, love and happiness” … and gun control and environmental protection and equal rights and and and … it might be a looooong cloth.

    Like

    • Patricia January 25, 2017 at 9:28 pm #

      Hi Liz. Just looked at your 2016 projects and so inspired and amazed at the results. Your vision manifesting wondrously.
      I love the name for your next project. Reminds me at bit of a sign I saw at the women’s march–“I can’t believe I still have to protest this same f-ing shit.” Yep. Go for it hippie nana. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  6. ravenandsparrow January 25, 2017 at 5:06 pm #

    Yay Patricia! I’m so glad to see you back! I have been feeling exactly the same, freaked out and drawn away from the things I used to enjoy…and very very heavy. I will make a prayer flag too.

    Like

    • Patricia January 25, 2017 at 9:33 pm #

      Yes, make a prayer flag. We do need so much positive action/energy to counteract the lords of darkness. Almost hourly it becomes more absurd, surreal and unimaginable. So we keep on doing whatever it is we can, and if a prayer to the winds feels helpful, do it. I’m Imagining an entire series. Maybe one for everyday of the term (and I’m hoping that won’t be long.). Take care.

      Like

  7. Mo Crow January 26, 2017 at 4:07 am #

    soul on deck

    Like

  8. Anonymous January 26, 2017 at 8:10 am #

    Thank you! I love the flag. It is inspired!

    Like

  9. Marti January 26, 2017 at 10:55 am #

    Welcome back Patricia, you’ve been missed, your cloths, your words, simply, you.

    Since we moved to New Mexico, over 3 years ago, I’ve made a series of prayer flags that have come and gone but three remain. Three wind prayer flags outside in our backyard, calling to the earth, speaking what comes from within me. Two tied to our two pear trees, the third, set against the brick wall, strips of rusted cloth tied to a small wreath, made from our pruned grapevines. All have faded, frayed and fringed from the elements, possibly from the weight of intended words spoken in prayer but all have held, these torn cloth strips that move in the fierce winds here, swaying in rain and snow, sending intentional prayers for whatever is needed.

    Indoors, the first cloth made this year, stitched on January 1,coming together from a random rusty bit found by my nephew on one of his walks and presented to me as a gift on New Year’s Eve. The rusty bit made strong markings on cloth and when I unwrapped the cloth on Jan. 1, it spoke to me of desecration, of foreshadowing what is coming to pass so I had to balance it with all of the green dyed pieces of cloth made last year, of walnut and acorn cloths, of the true gifts from leaves and organic matter, all of these pieces coming together, intersecting into a cloth that spoke a name to me, Earth Prayer 2017. It is no coincidence that we resort to whatever form prayer takes in each of us to speak our truths; all of each, individually, collectively, using words, using cloth, using action to proclaim that we are here
    and we will not stand aside.

    Like

    • Patricia January 26, 2017 at 11:00 am #

      Marti–she-who-speaks-with-eloquence. It feels good to hear from you. Very good. And yes, “we are here and we will not stand aside.” And yes, we will stand together. thank you for simply being.

      Like

I appreciate your feedback: