Transformation: Prayer Flag #4

28 Jan
toppocket

Holding

Transformation:  Google definition:  a thorough or dramatic change in form or appearance. Synonyms:   change, alteration, mutation, conversion, metamorphosis, transfiguration, transmutation, revolution, overhaul; remodeling, reshaping, redoing, reconstruction, rebuilding, reorganization, rearrangement, reworking, renewal, revamp, remaking, remake;  morphing…

…from the original to what is now.   Everything a manifestation of form, of thought, or the action that preceded it.  Yet everything always in the process of changing–of becoming something else.   Variable.  Never static.   And right now I need to remember that.

My fears for the future are “stories” I create.  Stories based on many things–experience, programming, culture, etc. –but stories nonetheless.  Why not write a different story? Revise the script?  Thoughts matter.  A lot.  Maybe more than anything.  Because they manifest and bear fruit.  Personally I’m tired of many of my thoughts and retiring them to the graveyard of inedible fruit.  At least that’s what I intend to do.

Today’s prayer flag embodies these concepts–the fluidity of transformation.  The on-going reorganization of thought and action that changes one state of being into another.  And in this instance, a rearrangement of scrap cloth–disparate pieces of eco printed and naturally dyed fabric now unite  to form a cohesive entity.  For me this flag illustrates the notion of manifestation.  Intention The idea that thoughts bear fruit.  And especially, thank you Aristotle, the idea that the whole is greater than the sum of it’s parts.  So.  Like this prayer flag, we can come together with every intention of manifesting a different outcome to the trajectory of today’s political arena.

OK.  Here it is:

img_2813

Transformation

pockettwo

Holding

23 Responses to “Transformation: Prayer Flag #4”

  1. journeyhouse January 28, 2017 at 11:53 am #

    Brilliant thoughts. Comforting flag. I am inspired, yet again. Thank you, Patricia.

    Like

    • Patricia January 28, 2017 at 1:54 pm #

      Thank you, “journeyhouse.” If you think to, let me know your name–unless this is your handle. (CB talk.)

      Like

      • journeyhouse January 28, 2017 at 6:00 pm #

        It is Laura.

        Like

      • journeyhouse January 28, 2017 at 6:02 pm #

        I think this is my favorite, so far. I must have looked at it dozen times, at least.

        Like

  2. bethstephens2012 January 28, 2017 at 12:40 pm #

    Thank you dear cousin for stating these thoughts. I’m with you.

    Like

    • Patricia January 28, 2017 at 1:55 pm #

      Think of you and Annie daily. Love ya

      Like

  3. Liz A January 28, 2017 at 1:49 pm #

    This one speaks volumes … incredible!

    And thank you for the metaphor of a graveyard for the inedible fruits of pointless worrying (boy oh boy can I ever relate).

    Likewise, thanks for inspiring the thought that a prayer flag with pockets for dried prairie grasses and wildflowers would be a welcome addition to our home. Seeds for the future …

    Like

    • Patricia January 28, 2017 at 2:00 pm #

      I will sit with the image of you roaming the prairie under a big sky, searching for treasures to fill your prayer flag. Much love.

      Like

  4. Anonymous January 28, 2017 at 3:36 pm #

    lovely

    Like

  5. grace Maestas January 28, 2017 at 4:27 pm #

    it’s perfect…the pockets and your dye work, always so tender to me

    Like

    • Patricia January 29, 2017 at 9:55 am #

      oh, this sentiment touches me to the quick. i feel your words more deeply than you can imagine.

      Like

  6. Diane January 28, 2017 at 5:30 pm #

    Stunningly beautiful the colors the holding the rythm all of it

    Like

    • Patricia January 29, 2017 at 9:56 am #

      ah yes. the holding especially. thank you Diane.

      Like

  7. debbie.weaver January 29, 2017 at 5:42 am #

    My favourite, lovely piece and the holding idea. Also what a great word, transformation, it covers so much. I think you may have inspired the title of my next exhibition.

    Like

    • Patricia January 29, 2017 at 10:00 am #

      I would love to see pieces from this next exhibition of yours. Will you share?

      Like

      • debbie.weaver January 29, 2017 at 10:40 am #

        Its not for another year, but will when the time comes.

        Like

  8. Totsy Curtis January 29, 2017 at 9:37 am #

    Beautiful! Are you willing to sell the transformation flag. It is especially pionient to me. Although I think they should all stay together for a showing. They need to be shown with your writings.

    Like

    • Patricia January 29, 2017 at 9:59 am #

      Hey Totsy. Yes, they might be sold, they might be gifted and/or they might just occupy the trees and shrubs around our space. When transformation is ready, I’ll give you a call. Love you.

      Like

      • Totsy Curtis January 29, 2017 at 11:56 am #

        ❤️️

        Like

  9. Mo Crow January 29, 2017 at 7:15 pm #

    earth magic

    Like

  10. Nancy January 30, 2017 at 12:41 am #

    Been catching up on all of these flags. This one in particular really speaks to me…the continuing element of it through the length and cloth extensions and a pocket for the future. My favorite, so far!
    As for thoughts, I’m going to need a bigger graveyard!

    Like

I appreciate your feedback: