Eco printing and Color in Carolina

28 Mar

Seems like the seasons are flattening out–one leading into the other w/o much transition or distinction.  But it’s spring now and color is back on this soil’s palette.  Now–if I were more literate technically you could already be viewing the mother of all forsythias.

But I’m not.  Not quite illiterate but nearly and it’s driving me nuts.  Like just now, I tried to download pics from phone to pc.  PC didn’t recognize iphone so I had to send each image as an email to my desktop.  Then I tried to save them to insert here and they’re off on some g-drive.  I found them and can look at them but that’s it.  No idea how to move them here because wordpress doesn’t support their current format.  Do I sound frustrated.  Back in a bit.

Okay. Had different options this time.

Now look at this–while trying to upload pics of the redbud, weld and woad, dogs’ morning-sniff-about I stumbled upon this option.  A slide show.  Does it work?  Too tedious?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Forsythia is about 25′ in width.  Image does not convey the sunshine she emits. The single rosette green plant is weld–traditional plant for yellow.  When I eco print with it, though, it leaves a wonderful green image.  The other greens are woad–similar to indigo in the way it has to be processed to give up its color.

So what I’m loving about eco printing–in addition to its beauty–is the fact that the materials I need for working with it are simply a step out the front door.  I try really hard only to use foraged material–stuff that’s already fallen from the tree or plant.  Recycling energy.  I’m also intrigued by the notion of slow color–of letting botanicals brew for however long–but truth be told, I’m not good at waiting so generally use steam to facilitate the process.

Where I was leading with this is the fact that eco printing/natural dyeing has brought home to me the adverse impact commercially dyed fabric has on the environment.   And along those same lines I’m doing somewhat of an experiment.  Trying to see if I can go an entire year w/o buying anything  new–even if it comes from Goodwill.  And I’m upcycling garments that I haven’t worn in a few years–a dress and a shirt.  Big pockets on the front–essential for all the stuff I seem to gather in a day’s time.

224fed39-4a50-459b-a28c-55b08010b879

and this –a coat I made during the winter by felting wool from old sweaters. Repurposed, recycled, reused.  Another R word is trying to surface–two actually.  Returning and roots. As in an idea I may blog about later.

373.JPG

That’s it for now.  And please may I get faster at blogging.

Oh wait–a fine green eco print that came about from light indigo over dyed with goldenrod.

pale green

and if you’re so inclined–check out:  www.thelanguageofleaves.com

6 Responses to “Eco printing and Color in Carolina”

  1. Liz March 28, 2016 at 11:39 am #

    If the slide show makes your life simpler, go for it … but I confess to liking the static images paired with text. I don’t know about Typepad, but Blogger has a rudimentary mobile app that makes it easy to insert pictures and text direct from my iPhone … then I go to my laptop to edit photo size and captions, add links and index labels, and preview for any final tweaks. Hope you can find similarly simple options on your end of the blogging world. Life’s too short to spend on uploads and tech-fiddling!

    Last, but not least … a lovely post. I do so enjoy seeing what you’re up to!

    Like

    • Patricia March 28, 2016 at 9:29 pm #

      Hey Liz–You and Mo are on the same page and I do agree with you. Had thought I would have time to “fix” the pics but didn’t get to it and probably won’t–but I won’t be using that app again. My big problem is transferring pics from iphone/ipad to pc since my pc doesn’t recognize either of them. This is new.

      I really appreciate your comment. Funny how little things seem to be the most important.

      Like

  2. Mo Crow March 28, 2016 at 12:46 pm #

    beautiful post! I’m with Liz, am not keen on slideshows, I like being able to double click on the photos to see the details & love your recycled clothes. It’s so hard to find clothes that don’t feel like plastic these days even in the thrift shops!

    Like

    • Patricia March 28, 2016 at 9:31 pm #

      Gotcha. No more slideshows! And yes–the feel of new clothing can be awful but the smell–that’s what really gets me. Forever I wondered why my eyes start stinging when I walk into a fabric store. I’m find out–and the news isn’t pretty.

      Like

  3. jstockler March 28, 2016 at 6:19 pm #

    Somewhere in the past year, your highly focused eye and your passion for eco-dying have married and created breath-taking works. Congrats!!!

    Like

    • Patricia March 28, 2016 at 9:33 pm #

      Hey Julie–such a compliment. Wish I could convey the emotions I felt reading it. Looks like we’ve both been out of the loop for a bit. I do feel resolved to continue but dropping all expectations about regularity! Glad Billy’s eating.

      Like

I appreciate your feedback: