Nine Lives. Nine Seeds.

22 Jun

What can be said about the events in Charleston, SC last week? Words cannot explain it, change it, fix it or prevent it from happening again. Words in themselves are useless. Even a parrot can talk.

At a memorial service here on Friday, the minister Brent La Prince Edwards– who grew up in the Emanuel AME Church in Charleston– described the meaningful, vital lives of each victim. He knew them. Personally. And somehow he managed to deliver a positive, uplifting eulogy. Reminding us that the balance can shift–that “it’s our turn now.” To step into the world we envision. To see that it does happen.

I suppose that’s possible. I’m just not sure.

But this morning I opened the seed pod of the false indigo. Babtista. I counted–9 seeds and a lot of sweet nectar.

There are no words. But there are seeds. Yes, there are seeds.

DSC03139

9 Responses to “Nine Lives. Nine Seeds.”

  1. grace June 22, 2015 at 10:30 am #

    seeds

    Like

  2. Mo Crow June 22, 2015 at 2:26 pm #

    “plant your love and let it grow”
    Eric Clapton 461 Ocean Boulevard

    Like

  3. user107055 June 22, 2015 at 9:56 pm #

    ” And in my hands I will see the holy seeds
    and a sweetness will rise up from these petal- bundles
    so heavy I must close my eyes to take it in ” M. Oliver

    Like

  4. Nancy June 23, 2015 at 9:40 am #

    There are always seeds…

    Like

    • Patricia June 23, 2015 at 10:15 am #

      yep. and what is a bad seed? thinking about that expression. maybe one that just doesn’t sprout.

      Like

I appreciate your feedback: