The One Thing

18 May

I  look at this picture and my heart swells with love.  Love that literally flows and moves through my body.  I look around.  Bowls, baskets, partially finished cloth–and yes, what I see I like very much.  But nothing else opens the door of my heart like this.  It is a physical sensation.  A sensation that allows breath and energy to enter through the crown of my head, complete a full circuit and dispel again into  the wild blue beyond.  I’m posting it here so I can come and see and experience this opening– often.  Otherwise, it will become buried in picture files and desktop garble and all of the other places I put things that I want to recall–but always have trouble finding again.

When I lived in an ashram, pictures of our guru served this same heart-opening experience for many.  I have a dear friend who is a devotee of Amma.  Amma’s pictures adorn her environment.  Function as reminder and heart opener for her.  There are many ways we do this in our lives–we place objects of importance around to remind us of the wonders, mystery and glory of existence.  To remind us.  To encourage heart opening.

So.  Because this blog chronicles for me what I need to remember, here.  This.  The One thing.logan

14 Responses to “The One Thing”

  1. user107055 May 18, 2015 at 9:28 am #

    breathe in breathe out heart full
    gentle day
    cynthia

    Like

  2. Liz May 18, 2015 at 9:55 am #

    Yes

    Like

  3. jude May 18, 2015 at 9:56 am #

    that’s it

    Like

  4. Marti May 18, 2015 at 10:09 am #

    Simply, LOVE, the only thing ever needed..

    Like

  5. grace May 18, 2015 at 11:40 am #

    there is a clarity, a purity here….of the moment, of the boy
    and also for me a kind of dreamlike quality
    it’s “beyond” everything…..but includes everything

    Like

    • Patricia May 18, 2015 at 11:45 am #

      Grace–you named it. i have 100’s of pics of boy…but this one. you
      say it captures clarity, purity…that’s it but the other too. the dreamlike quality. –it’s almost as if he is seeing into something else

      Like

  6. sue May 18, 2015 at 2:03 pm #

    He is blessed to hole these beautiful words to his heart, now and when he’s older.

    Like

  7. Mo Crow May 18, 2015 at 3:28 pm #

    that young man has grown up a lot on this last year!

    Like

    • Patricia May 19, 2015 at 8:19 am #

      he has. and i’m glad the silly child in him is still very much having fun. when i look at this pic, i see shades of what will be.

      Like

I appreciate your feedback: