The Jawbone of a Beast Meets “The Shopping Place”

6 Apr

DSC02653
DSC02650

Today’s Offering at the Shopping Place

OK. I’ve had a few questions about the bask-owls–and the answer is– Yes, the baskets and bowls I post here are for sale.  To hopefully facilitate things, I’ve added a 3rd page to this site–“Shopping Place.” I’ll put new items there as I can–right now it feels like a very clumsy system…and probably won’t include everything–but I’ll try it out for a while and see how it goes. I’ve spent way too much time setting this up this morning — would much rather be chasing spirals.

But here.  This is what really excites me–scraps of linen, muslin and silk–overdyed in alkanet.
scraps
And the jawbone of a beast.  Uncovered yesterday while investigating one of the flower beds at this new house.  Horse?

jawbone

7 Responses to “The Jawbone of a Beast Meets “The Shopping Place””

  1. Marti April 6, 2015 at 12:47 pm #

    How well I know and love the excitement of the cloth scraps; never have dyed with alkanet so of course I looked it up and found that the roots can give the color red. I’m waiting for the land to blossom forth to begin my foraging treks but as I deadhead pansies, pull up weeds, take scraps from our compost heaps, tea dregs, carrot peelings, spent lilacs, leaves, stems, I find that I simply cannot help myself, the urge to create a few cloth bundles takes over even though I know full well that for the most part, I won’t get much color or any markings except for the tea…but that’s fine because this has become my meditative process, as important to me as my daily altar blessing ritual….and sometimes, I am gifted with the unexpected as in a riotous small strip of cloth that I unbundled on Saturday. Inside the cloth, deadheaded magenta pansy leaves, spent lilacs and a splash of vinegar. The result – splotches of electric purple much like I get when desert willow blossoms are at the ready.!

    Like

    • Patricia April 6, 2015 at 1:22 pm #

      oh yes. it just takes one tiny splotch of color to totally become miraculous. and as you say, it’s in the going. still, nice to have a visual reward.

      i’ve only used alkanet once–and the colors have all ranged from deep regal purple to pale pale lilac. some of the dark in this pic was yellow overdyed. so i don’t know much about getting red results. let me know if you use it–i’m always looking for reds–well, purple as well. much love

      Like

  2. vanessa April 6, 2015 at 5:25 pm #

    I would love the 2 blue & white ones, vanessa save them for me email me

    Like

    • Patricia April 6, 2015 at 5:42 pm #

      Sure thing. Did you get the email i sent you? I’ll need your address–thanks

      Like

  3. karmadondruplhamo April 6, 2015 at 6:56 pm #

    is the bone too big for a deer? Horse…how amazing that would be…i would be
    lost in it.
    The cloths….just so really … thrilling … to me, do not know alkanet at All….will read but am so happy that you are doing ALL this at one time….a lot…the bowls, the dye, the garden, a LOT.
    and about the bowls/baskets
    i was thinking this morning as i went off to work about your new shopping place here, if it works at all for you, i think it’s WONDER FULL…. love to see them this way and also
    this thought….that these are PERFECT FOR EVERYONE. And that cannot be said about a lot of things….the story cloth we do for instance would be “lost” on a lot of people….i
    would never imagine a lot of people feeling comfortable with what i make…just a certain some. But these baskets, i could gift them to every single person i know and can imagine them in their homes, radiating Joy everywhere. I really really love them. PLEASE try to stick it out with the 3rd page…..it is a wonderful place to come when wanting to send a gift. Perfect.
    LOVE to you….

    Like

  4. Nancy April 7, 2015 at 10:32 pm #

    We thought deer too, but you say no. I love the fabric…especially when I blow it up big! I can see the weave of each piece. It’s magic. All of the colors are great, but the purpley one caught my eye!

    Like

I appreciate your feedback: