live love leap

4 Feb

live love leap

Here. I’m talking to myself. This morning I was on hands and knees– picking scraps up from the floor. Tossing them up overhead to land on my work table. Not watching, not planning, not in-my-head. And this figure is pretty much what happened.  A few tweaks but not much. And no, I don’t know what the red dot is–I usually see my figures as feminine.  So this one?  I just don’t know.  But I might do a few more of these  “blind” cloths  because–because–it was liberating.  NO MIND at all.  And it was fast.  But it asked me to express words– words that hold important direction.  Directions.  A map for going.  A 6″ square map for going.

8 Responses to “live love leap”

  1. Mo Crow February 4, 2014 at 1:47 pm #

    I love the idea of the cloth as spontaneous gesture

    Like

    • Patricia February 5, 2014 at 7:29 am #

      spontaneous gesture–i like that. and i like the idea of non methodical. change. outside the box. and all the while, just going.

      Like

  2. karmadondruplhamo....grace forrest February 4, 2014 at 9:49 pm #

    clothmaking as mapmaking. cloth talks.

    Like

    • Patricia February 5, 2014 at 7:32 am #

      mapmaking. i’m seeing life as map. and noticing what it looks like right now, in this present moment that holds what was and allows what will be.

      Like

  3. Anonymous February 5, 2014 at 8:01 am #

    Just love this! Love how it evolved.

    Like

    • Patricia February 5, 2014 at 8:06 am #

      yes–the evolution was serendipitous–lots of “oh my” moments. thanks for the comment

      Like

  4. cynthia craig February 5, 2014 at 9:00 am #

    how could i continue through yesterday with slog as my defining theme..well ok sludging up and down stairs carrying bags of wet yuck out to the front , terrified that i would slip, fall, break.. and my hands were so cold, gloves and all..but between grace’s cloth of thought and your dolphins ..it gave me a lot to think about..and then the joy fullness of live love leap

    and these words…the connection between your” life as map “and your work, my mins is just moving happily …,,all the concepts held within..the map as the familiar route..map as guide into a place unknown to some, familiar to others, the anticipation of stepping off of a known path

    (you can laugh at me at this point i became driven, teased by the thought of a work i knew you had done and i went back back back and finally found primordial soup..a piece that had lodged it self quite firmly in my thoughts and i looked at it and was feeling so amazed at how well i remembered it..and i wanted you to know how much it had touched me..and then as i came back here to write i saw your cloth and card shop at the top and there it was …so simple to find..and yes i will check back soon….) but while know that i have no idea what this piece means/meant to you it was so interconnected to things you have sent out into the world this year and well

    it did touch me and stay with me..and when i read ” this present moment that holds all that was and allows what will be ” the spontaneity of todays’ work..all tangled with the thought behind the creation of the dolphins and the starfish and the mystery of the women of recent cloths. it touched something deep within me….it is quite a map there that you are moving within..

    and yes josh is mine and meadow his beloved and they live in a house her father built and in which she was born..and if you goggle kickstart and then in search type in vermont and rice you can see a small but wonderful view into this world..oh the fund raiser is done..this was not a request for funds of any kind..they made their goal and will have a wonderful and most helpful piece of equipment ..but in the second one you can see an amazing ariel view of the farm..and the rice paddies and it is (to me ) worth the 4 minutes just to watch meadow and the goats taking their walk into the woods at the end…we are in the process of moving two miles over one of those hills..off grid and the breathtaking drive up to breezy meadows is not where we need to be…sigh

    anyway thank you much

    Like

    • Patricia February 5, 2014 at 9:25 am #

      another comment worthy of adulation–and i do honor what you say and the flow created in your expression. josh and his beloved. his beloved. nestled on breezy hill–doing so much good for this planet. and you as mother. origin. oh, cynthia. so much.

      and the water issue. is it resolved? i imagined your plight. up and down stairs. lugging. just going. wondering “what” i can’t imagine. and so if dolphin helped your “going” then that is more than enough for me.

      and yes, i am going to continue with these little cloths for a while. mantra cloths i’m calling them. i need movement these days. for several months have been mired in too much heaviness. needing lightness now, and the ability to move with “less fetter”–unfettered i suppose is the word.

      and my website–well, it’s under construction STILL. everything has been on the back burner–but that will be changing soon. big challenges still in front of me, and what i do each day is breathe and try to stay in that gap where clarity and reality can be observed without paralysis. keep commenting please. YOU are helping me so much.

      Like

I appreciate your feedback: